Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Apple Picking and Pumpkin Sitting

A few weeks ago we headed across the mighty Mississippi River to Illinois for some apple picking (and pumpkin sitting). It was a beautiful day, but hot for October, in the mid 80's.



We went to one of the huge farms. So big they have to cart customers out to the fields in wagons. It was towards the end of apple season, so there were only 2 varieties to choose from - Golden Delicious and Red Rome. Both were picked and eaten, and they were yummy.



You can also pick your own pumpkin out of the field. We chose not to get pumpkins on this day. But the kids did like checking out the huge pumpkins that were on display.

Monday, November 1, 2010

It's November Already?

Where did October go?

Hope everyone had fun last night for Halloween. My son hasn't dressed up for a few years, but my daughter and her friend went out trick-or-treating the neighborhood.



We always have a really big turnout here. Tons of kids out and about with the parents. Not any kids out by themselves, except for the handful of teenagers. (I can honestly say that my parents never went trick-or-treating with us. Yes, it was the 70's, and we were naively ignorant of the bad things that could happen to us. I remember running to keep up with my 2 older brothers, and them getting mad because they had to bring me home when I got too tired to keep up with them. As I got older, my friend and I would always start out with them, but by the second block they had left us far behind.)



Where I live now we have lots of people with their fire pits in the driveway, and friends and neighbors gathered around... drinking. Lots of drinking is involved in any activity in my neighborhood. Actually, any day is a good day to break out the fire pit, grab a beer, and be seen. Sometimes it gets to be a bit much.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Another "I love Autumn" post

I was going to post about my birthday and about my semi-busy weekend, but I'm on my laptop and my photos are on my desktop, so.... I thought I would bore ya'll with another Autumn themed Etsy post.

I've been wanting a pair of fingerless gloves. I haven't had any since I used to work the drive-thru at McDonald's (that was a long, long time ago!!) Right now I'm really digging these Burnt Orange Fingerless Gloves



Or maybe these Little Owl Fingerless Gloves in Burnt Orange. They also have them in grey, beige, black, and mustard.



I am always looking for new fabrics to purchase. I really love this combination from Fabric Flair. So pretty!!



I really love this photo of Leaves Falling On Barns.


Not that I need another coffee mug, but
this Brown Coffee Mug says 'autumn' to me.




How about some Pumpkin Spice Latte Beverage to go in that new mug?

Monday, October 4, 2010

My Birthday Sale - One Day Only!!

Here it is. My Birthday Sale - One Day Only - Tuesday, October 5. The first 5 customers (starting now) receive 50% off their entire order!!
You can either pay and I will refund the difference, or you can wait for a revised PayPal invoice.




My Birthday Wish List

I thought I would put together my Birthday Wish List. Here is what I would buy for myself (if I were buying my own birthday presents this year).

Little Pond Earrings Green Mystic Quartz Gold



Handmade Fields of Lavender Soap



London Blue Topaz Petite Drops Collection



Moms Motel - 8x12 Fine Art Photographic Print



This I Am Mr. Darcy t shirt is funny. But my husband would never wear it!!



Mr. Darcy Proposal Mug



Beauty and The Beast Journal



Seriously, THIS is the only thing I have requested as a gift this year.

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Happy Birthday!!

Both of my children recently celebrated their birthdays. My daughter turned 13, and my son is now 16.

My daughter wants me to keep her face off of my blog, so I am using a photo of her feet. She can't complain about that. Oh what the heck, I am going to use the cute photo of my kids and their friends and cousin at the bowling alley for their birthdays. Then it was dinner out. One day was ice cream cake. The other wanted a cookie cake. Yummy!!









Saturday, September 25, 2010

Did you know there is only one PINK Kindle out there...

and that Stephen King has it? I just found out about this. Apparently Amazon asked Stephen King to write a short story for the launch of the new Kindle (in 2009). Stephen's story featured a Pink Kindle, so they made and presented him with his own Pink Kindle.

Gosh Darnit, I want a Pink Kindle. Seriously. I never wanted a Kindle until I saw his pink one. I think ereaders are a great idea, and I can see the appeal of having all of your books in one place. But so far I haven't felt the need to own an ereader. I still really like my books. I like holding books and turning pages, and looking at the thickness of a book, and where my bookmark is in relation to the end (or beginning) of a book. But I could really go for a Pink Kindle. HINT HINT

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Greenfield Hill by Denyse Schmidt

Denyse Schmidt has a new fabric line coming out in November called Greenfield Hill.

I don't know how I feel about these yet. They're a little different than what I am used to from Denyse Schmidt. Not quite as busy or as colorful, but they're still very nice.

Cranberry:


Blueberry:


Dogwood:

Monday, September 20, 2010

It's Almost Autumn...

I love Autumn. It's my favorite time of year. The kids are already excited about going to the pumpkin patch - although I must admit what they are actually excited about is taking Max, the puppy, with us to the pumpkin patch. My husband is looking forward to taking Max in the corn maze. Like Max is really going to help him find his way out!!

I thought I would share a few of my recent Autumn favorites from Etsy.

Autumn photography prints from Raceytay.


Autumn Glass Magnets from StickinWithMe.




Pumpkin Orange Chalcedony Earrings from Arctida.



Autumn Hand bound Leather Journal with Hand-engraved Oak Leaf from lapaperie.



And made by ME, a cute zippered pouch just perfect for autumn!!

Friday, September 3, 2010

Etsy Anniversary Sale Going On Now!!



Etsy Anniversary Sale going on now!!

Wow. I can't believe it's been 4 years since I opened my Etsy store. I am currently offering free shipping on all zippered pouches and wristlets. I have also added more items to my SALE section, so be sure to check it out.

I have new stuff to add. I'm going to try to get everything photographed and listed this weekend.

A big thank you to everyone who has purchased from me, and a big hug to all of my repeat customers.

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

jennifersmusings: Oooh-la-la! GIVEAWAY!




jennifersmusings: Oooh-la-la! GIVEAWAY!: "This giveaway has all things HEAVENLY: copies of books 1&2, a notebook, mini poster and 'Real Angels Don't Fall' Heavenly T! If you haven't..."

Monday, August 30, 2010

Finally!!

Guess what movie I finally saw this past Saturday night? That's right. Eclipse.



Let me tell you, after only seeing one move since New Moon (How To Train Your Dragon) I was really looking forward to getting out and enjoying a movie. The only theatre it was still playing at around here was at the mall, which is old. It's okay there, but not the new and really nice theatre that we usually go to. My husband was certain that we would be the only ones there, but when we walked in about 15 minutes before the movie started, there was already 2 young women there in the back row. So we sat 2 rows in front of them and off the right so we wouldn't interfere with their view since they were there first. Obviously everyone is not this courteous. Is there no movie theatre etiquette anymore? Because 2 young women come in and sit directly behind us and start talking in full on loud voices until the movie started. My husband wanted to move but I told him let's wait and see how it goes. Then a couple walks in and sits directly in front of us. This is the time when you start seriously thinking you are on Candid Camera!! There is a whole theatre of empty seats and they choose to sit in back and front of us, and we are off to one side, not in the middle premium seats... It drives me crazy. Then a whole bunch of couples start arriving and sitting all around us... okay, fine, no one knows how to spread out.

So I have 3 empty seats to the right between me and the aisle, and a couple shows up just as the movie is starting and sits there with 1 empty seat between us. This man drove me absolutely crazy!! I was ready to scream out loud by the end of the movie. He wouldn't sit still, he huffed and sighed and moaned and groaned and shuffled his feet and put his feet up on the chair in front of him and tapped and wiggled and just would not sit still. He got up 3 times during the movie to get candy, so he's making noise with his boxes, and chewing and smacking, and every time he picked up his huge ass soda, he would swirl it around before taking gulps and smacking his lips and sighing, and OMG I was ready to scream!!

As for the movie itself, it was okay. Afterwards my husband asked how long before he has to suffer through another one? I made his night by telling him not until next November. He said he could handle waiting that long to go with me again. Gee, thanks honey. I stopped him with a hand on his arm, and I got up in his face and started talking to him really serious... just like they do in Eclipse, and he started cracking up and wondering why they do that? I told him I didn't know, that this was the 3rd different director, so you would think they could do something different. The extreme close-ups and seriousness of every little line has gotten more pronounced with each movie. It's a bit much. I'd like to see the actors move around and act like real people while having discussions. All the close-ups just make it so boring. I think they are going for dramatic, but it's just not coming off that way.

And the hand held cameras bothered me. Too much shaking. The scene that was the most notable, I think, was in Jacob's garage when Jacob was throwing a fit over Bella choosing to become one of them... Jacob was shaking in a rage, and the camera was shaking too. That was just weird.

Robert Pattinson's acting just gets better and better with each movie. I thought he was awesome. And hot. LOL. Gotta give him that. And he looked extremely hot hot hot in the tent scene. And the meadow scenes. And the... well, he looked really good throughout the entire movie.



Taylor Lautner was really good too. I think he owns the role of Jacob. I know the character is really supposed to be huge and towering over everyone, but he pulls off being short and imposing, and makes being tall seem less important.

As for Kristen Stewart, same old, same old. She's terrible. I can't stand watching her sputter and stutter and just ugh, I don't like the way she acts!! Although, she wasn't as terrible as she was in Twilight and New Moon, so at this rate, by the end of filming Breaking Dawn she will be less twitchy and stuttery and sputtery... or at least I can hope.

Not enough Billy Burke. He totally stole every scene he was in. (And I kept waiting for him to pick up a guitar and start singing... that may have been just a 'me' thing though. Does anyone else have his CD?)

I loved Jasper's back story. Loved Alice. Rosalee looked horrible. Not enough of Emmett. Loved the training and fight scenes. Didn't like the new Victoria. Loved Riley. Loved the wolves. They were huge!! My husband even commented on the big ass wolves.

I loved the scene when Bella showed up at the Cullen's house. Edward opened the door and wondered what Bella was doing out there.. which was weird to say, but when she entered the house with him, they played 'Bella's Lullaby' in the background. Did anyone else like this as much as I did?



Overall, Eclipse was pretty good. I like the story of Eclipse better than I like the actual movie. Of course I will be getting the DVD, and I'll watch it a few more times, and maybe then I will have more of an opinion. Right now I think it's better than New Moon. The acting is better than Twilight. But I still like Twilight more because it was the first, it was fresh, and because they still walked and talked, and I actually like that. The extreme close-ups have gotten out of hand. Hopefully they get that under control and have more moderation for Breaking Dawn.

Friday, August 20, 2010

First Day Of School



Monday, August 16, was the kids first day of school. For some reason they seem to think they are too old for the annual 'drag us onto the front porch and take a picture of us on the first day of school' routine. They're not too old. They were willingly reluctant. Reluctantly willing? Eh, I got them both on the porch at 6:22 am and snapped a few photos.

This was not them happy either. I was being goofy, and I told them to hug. She backed away because boys (especially brothers) have cooties. He laughed so hard at her that she started laughing.

AND I was warned I better not put any photos of them on my blog. I promised not to. I lied. Oops.

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Officially Introducing...

MAX!!!



We've had him for 5 weeks now. My husband talked me into going to 'look' at 3 puppies, brothers, that he had stopped and looked at and played with... Looking turned into getting. My husband and kids promised me that if we got a new puppy I could name him anything I wanted.



Every name that I wanted or suggested they turned down. I originally called him Rochester. I was told that was a stupid name for a dog. I insisted on Rochester, but suggested a few other names: Heathcliff, Darcy, Mr. Darcy, Wentworth, Frederick, Bronte, Branwell... no one liked any of these names. I don't know why not, I think they are very dignified names.



Then I made a comment about how they would probably really like a simple and common name like Max. Yeppers, they liked Max. I had to put my foot down and make sure they understood that his name was officially Maximillian Rochester (for AKC registration purposes). Max is a cute name, but I still occasionally call him Rochester just to piss off my family. LOL

Max is now 13 weeks old. He's a miniature dachshund, and he is really, really cute. And he'd be even cuter if he would stop pooping in the house.



For the first few days, Max wouldn't stop whining unless someone was holding him or he was snuggled up against someone. My husband, Mr. Softy, slept on the couch for 3 nights so Max could lay on him. It was our desperate attempt to keep him quiet so we could sleep. Since then he's been sleeping in his cage at night. He still whines and cries and barks, but it is in spurts, and not all night long like it was at first.



I am still very overprotective of him. After what happened with our last puppy, I don't like Max out of my sight for very long. My husband likes to take Max with him when he visits with the neighbors, so I have to send the kids to get Max and bring him home so I can keep an eye on him.



Max was 4.3 pounds at 8 weeks old, and 4.8 pounds at 11 weeks old, and 6.4 pounds today (13 weeks). Here he is with one of his favorite toys. You can see that Tigger is bigger than him.